HD READY OR HD TV?

LG
Unregistered guest
I just purchased a Toshiba 52hm84 and I love it. The picture is great and I have no complaints. I currenty use comcast and everything works great. The pictures are wonderful. I wanted to know would it be worth me getting the new 52hm94 wich has a built in HD turner? would it make my pictures that much better? I am new to this and wanted some feed back. Also I understand that ESPN broadcast in 720P however when watching the chanel it broadcast in 4:3 versus the 16:9. Do I have to change some settings or something?

Silver Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 210
LG:
The only use for an on board HD tuner is to receive local over the air HD signals that may be available in your area (with an adequate antenna). It would have no effect on picture quality you see from your cable box.

Not all video on ESPNHD is shot in HD. So a lot of their stuff such as game highlights or even complete games is still in 4:3 "pillar boxed" standard definition. This will change in time as HD production equipment becomes cheaper and more plentiful.

LG
Unregistered guest
Thanks for the heads up. I was about to return my 52hm84 and get the 94 with the built in tuner but I think I will stick with what I got. I don't think it is worth the extra money. I was dissapointed that the Red Sox Yankees game was broadcast in 4:3.

Adam Naper
Unregistered guest
"wide screen" versus "WEGA" ... Can someone explain? Also I would be curious as to opinions on each, ... as well as comparison.

xvxvxvx
Unregistered guest
"WEGA" is the name of a certain line of Sony displays. Widescreen denotes a ration of 16:9 vs the 4:3 ration of standard displays.

xvxvxvx

Username: Gbutler12

Post Number: 1
SDI vs SXGA
SXGA, although a analog signal (1280x1040) should be a better picture than SDI that is a digital signal that low resolution (720x480).
Would this be your opinion and why?
Thanks

Username: Bampie

Post Number: 2